James E. Hansen


Dr. James Hansen, formerly Director of the NASA Goddard Institute for Space Studies, is an Adjunct Professor at Columbia University’s Earth Institute, where he directs the Program on Climate Science, Awareness and Solutions. He was trained in physics and astronomy in the space science program of Dr. James Van Allen at the University of Iowa. His early research on the clouds of Venus helped identify their composition as sulfuric acid. Since the late 1970s, he has focused his research on Earth’s climate, especially human-made climate change. Dr. Hansen is best known for his testimony on climate change to congressional committees in the 1980s that helped raise broad awareness of the global warming issue. He was elected to the National Academy of Sciences in 1995 and was designated by Time Magazine in 2006 as one of the 100 most influential people on Earth. He has received numerous awards including the Carl-Gustaf Rossby and Roger Revelle Research Medals, the Sophie Prize and the Blue Planet Prize. Dr. Hansen is recognized for speaking truth to power, for identifying ineffectual policies as greenwash, and for outlining actions that the public must take to protect the future of young people and other life on our planet.

Click here for Dr. Hansen’s web page

Click here to download Dr. Hansen’s CV

Click here for Dr. Hansen's Twitter

Click here for Dr. Hansen’s Facebook page


Future climate change under RCP emission scenarios with GISS ModelE2

L. Nazarenko
G. A. Schmidt
R. L. Miller
N. Tausnev
M. Kelley
R. Ruedy
G. L. Russell
I. Aleinov
M. Bauer
S. Bauer
R.. Bleck
V. Canuto
Y. Cheng
T. L. Clune
A. D. Del Genio
G. Faluvegi
J. E. Hansen
R. J. Healy
N. Y. Kiang
D. Koch
A. A. Lacis
A. N. LeGrande
J. Lerner
K. K. Lo
S. Menon
V. Oinas
J. Perlwitz
M. J. Puma
D. Rind
A. Romanou
M. Sato
D. T. Shindell
S. Sun
K. Tsigaridis
N. Unger
A. Voulgarakis
M.-S. Yao
Jinlun Zhang

Configuration and assessment of the GISS ModelE2 contributions to the CMIP5 archive

Gavin A. Schmidt
Max Kelley
Larissa Nazarenko
Reto Ruedy
Gary L. Russell
Igor Aleinov
Mike Bauer
Susanne E. Bauer
Maharaj K. Bhat
Rainer Bleck
Vittorio Canuto
Yong-Hua Chen
Ye Cheng
Thomas L. Clune
Anthony Del Genio
Rosalinda de Fainchtein
Greg Faluvegi
James E. Hansen
Richard J. Healy
Nancy Y. Kiang
Doroth Koch
Andy A. Lacis
Allegra N. LeGrande
Jean Lerner
Ken K. Lo
Elaine E. Matthews
Surabi Menon
Ron L. Miller
Valdar Oinas
Amidu O. Oloso
Jan P. Perlwitz
Michael J. Puma
William M. Putman
David Rind
Anastasia Romanou
Makiko Sato
Drew T. Shindell
Shan Sun
Rahman A. Syed
Nick Tausnev
Kostas Tsigaridis
Nadine Unger
Apostolos Voulgarakis
Mao-Sung Yao
Jinlun Zhang